What is staledating?
Staledating is a feature of our tool where, regardless of the condition of the license, any device that has not been re-inventoried within x days (x being the staledate threshold) will be removed from the reports.
The staledate is set to 30 days for the Block 64 Discover Application and 90 days, by default, for the BlockBox Virtual Appliance. The threshold on the BlockBox Virtual Appliance can be customized to your preferred time.
What happens to a device that is staledated?
Once a device has passed the staledate threshold, the data is not deleted or destroyed but it will not appear in reports and will be represented as greyed out in the Combine.
When is data deleted from the Combine?
Data is deleted according to our Data Retention Policy any site that has not had any uploads (From any of our tools) for 90 days or more, all data will be deleted and is not recoverable.
What if I don't want data deleted?
The persist feature ensures the latter doesn't occur, and that the site remains, though specific devices that are stale, will still disappear from reports. Data persistence must be requested as by default, data retention is set, by default, to be destroyed after 90 days of no uploads.
My license is still valid but my data has been destroyed.
Our data destruction policy is initiated upon the last upload and will be destroyed if there are no uploads to the Combine within 90 days, from that point even if a license is valid.